Tree down? Check.
Cupboards cleared of junk? Yep.
Fridge full of veggies? You bet!
The post holiday eating begins.

I didn’t wander too far afield of healthy eating during Christmas, but I did enjoy some of my favorite treats. I sampled some of the rugelach I make every Christmas for friends and family, and I enjoyed a slice or two of the plum pudding that friends make for me each year. Yum, Yum…they were so good and totally met my expectations for Christmas splurging.

I also stuck with tradition and made sausage and spinach quiche for Christmas morning breakfast/brunch. That stuff is loaded with calories, but I only make it on Christmas, so on Christmas I enjoy it without guilt.

I tried a new recipe during the holiday. A parmesan vegetable tian that I had seen showcased on a few blogs I visit frequently. It was good and most of all, pretty, which helped to make our meal festive. As always, I tried to use as many fresh and frozen veggies as possible in our meal prep. My kiddos love veggies, so it’s not hard to do.

We had company with us for most of the holiday and lots of people in and out, which was fun, but exhausting. I’m still recovering from all the play. I ache for at least two weeks after I do one of these family marathon things, but its worth it. Eventually, all the joints and muscles will calm down, and then I will be glad for all the family fun time we had during Christmas 2014.

I thought it would be fun to share a few snapshots from around the house during the holiday. I don’t think I have any of the food, but a few decorations were captured on my digital camera.DSC_2124

Everybody raved about the lil owl I displayed this year, which was amusing to me because he was a dog toy that I paid a few bucks for, but he is adorable and owls are big this year.

DSC_2126

Our DVD holder was covered with a mish mash of holiday stuff.  The carved olive wood angel on top of the candle was a gift from my son upon his return from Israel during his college days.

DSC_2128

This gift was from my niece.  She’s so crafty, and the background color on this piece perfectly matched my wall, which is not easy to do.  You can’t really tell it in this picture, but the word GOOD on the painting is covered in glitter so it sparkles.  I love homemade gifts!

DSC_2200

Oh, I did find a picture of some of the good eats we had at Christmas.  These are chocolate Christmas trees I made following a recipe on Pinterest.  I thought the kids would enjoy them, and they did.  We put them in the top of cupcakes on the day our house was full, full of kids.  Six wee ones and seven adults filled the house that day–what a crew!  Most of the kiddos were under 6 yrs old, making for a lot of noise and a lot of eating.  I think everyone went away satisfied.DSC_2134

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My lighted Christmas house. We get this out every year.  It’s prettier when the lights are out; so soothing.  Finally, a new favorite was added to the mix this year.

DSC_2132

These pieces are the remnants of an antique chair that have been re-purposed.  The words painted on the wood say: GRACE upon GRACE upon GRACE upon GRACE.  I love it!

I think Grace is going to be my mantra for the new year.  After all, who couldn’t benefit from either receiving or giving a little more grace?

I’ll be back with another post about the food and how things turned out during the holidays with the scale.

Happy New Year, everyone!

2 thoughts on “

  1. Fun!! Glad to know how well it went for you, Lori!

    I got a poinsettia a couple of years ago and after the holidays I planted it along my front entrance. Now it’s almost four feet high, lol Who knew? Gives red leaves every winter till the freeze comes.

Comments are closed.