Ummm, Good!!!

One of my favorite comfort foods is homemade soup.

000hamburg soup

Last night we had a hot bowl of hamburger soup made with my brother’s grass-fed beef. It was delicious and so easy to make. Here’s how I did it:

Brown ground beef with garlic in a pan. Clove garlic or powder will work, but I like to keep it real, so I use a clove of garlic, whole.  Drain grease, which brings me to comment on the greasy nature of this beef.  When liquids were added, a lot of fat came to the top. Much more than store-bought beef. Why?  I wondered about that, but I digress…

Drain the grease from meat, then add 1 large container of beef broth. I use the low sodium Swanson brand.  Then I take one 12 oz or so can of stewed tomatoes and put them in the blender.  Some of the men in my fam don’t like tomato chunks in their soup, so I do this to please them, but you can leave them chunky.  I use stewed tomatoes because they already have the peppers and onions and other spices in them. Easy. Add them in.

Next, I add 2 raw potatoes and 2 carrots that have been sliced into coins, and let it go to work for about 10 minutes.  Next, I add salt, pepper, basil, oregano, and celery seed, to taste.  Then I add frozen mixed veggies (10-12 oz bag), and half a cabbage, shredded.  I put the pot on and let it do its thing while I make a whole wheat anise and pumpkin cornbread I found in the Everyday Happy Herbivore cookbook, one of my favorites.

000everyday-happy-herbivore-by-lindsay-s-nixon-01714a906c8b05c8

The whole process takes only 30 minutes, and we sit down to a homemade and nutritious meal that we all enjoy.  Yum, Yummmmm.  Last night, I got hubs to start the meat while I commuted from my day job, which made prep that much easier.

I love easy!

For you guys out there, this is a really easy recipe.  My guy made the cornbread last night, himself, and it was soo good. The anise makes it taste like candy and the pumpkin ensures it is never dry.  For an even shorter short cut, all the liquid stuff could be done in the blender, including the addition of spices, and then poured int a bowl, covered and left in the frig overnight.  It really is a great dish for a cold night.  Enjoy!

