After Thanksgiving Thankfulness

I didn’t gain any weight during the Thanksgiving Holiday!

In fact, I came out of the holiday weighing exactly what I did going into it, and this morning I weighed less.

Woohoo! This is great news for a recovering COE!

How did I do it? 

I measured everything I ate.

I made sure I invested myself in other people.

I kept up with my 30 in 30 exercise regimen.

I burned added calories by playing with babes on the living room floor at my brother’s house.

I tried a new technique when making pie, but I also made a choice to forego one particular favorite food of mine–a fav filled with sugar.  I can honestly say that I didn’t miss it, although I thought I would, and my blood sugar wasn’t sent into the stratosphere by partaking of it.  Plus, there were no leftovers of forbidden fruits.

I thought I would share with you a few pics from my Thanksgiving Day celebration.

A picture of the pie–it really did turn out great!

DSC_1785

DSC_1797

 

 

Don’t you love those fox salt and pepper shakers? So cute

 

 

 

My younger son likes apple crumb topping on his pie, while my hubs likes as much flaky crust as he can get with his.  I decided to shoot for both, and used a dish towel set on a slice of tin foil, covered with two pot holders to weigh the pie down on the top as it cooled.  For those of you who like to cut corners by folding your dough in, rustic-style, this method prevented the top crust from cooling high above the filling, a no-no in my play book.  The pie turned out nicely, and I was very excited about that–probably more than pie crust warrants, truth be told. 😉

I also wanted to share with you a picture of me and my love. I call this Winter Blush. DSC_1850

I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving where you are, that you didn’t gain ten pounds after the dinner meal, that you had a lil bit of snow to play in after eating, and if you don’t celebrate the holiday, that you were able to celebrate a personally happy and healthy Thursday!  Mine was blessed beyond belief.

Thank you, Lord.  Change is possible!

 

 

