It’s been cold in NEPA this week. Burr cold. Freeze your nose hairs cold. Are you kiddin’ me, it’s only November cold. Too cold!

Did you see the pictures of what happened in Buffalo, NY this week? Yikes, this place is only 4 hours from our front door. Too close for comfort.

Buffalo, NY winter storm Nov 2014

Buffalo, NY winter storm Nov 2014

That was just yesterday afternoon and they are bracing for more snow.

Did you see the wall of snow that divided North Buffalo from South Buffalo?  Oh, my…

November 2014 Buffalo, NY The Big Storm

November 2014 Buffalo, NY The Big Storm

The good news: all this frigid weather has been prompting me to think about the holidays and what I’m going to be serving up on Thanksgiving and Christmas. This year I won’t be making the cranberry sauce I usually do–too much sugar. I’ve been scoping out a few alternative and I found a Paleo options I think might work.  Here’s the recipe. Enjoy!

cranberry

Ingredients:

1 pound fresh cranberries (ideally organic)
1 cup unsweetened cranberry juice or orange juice
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ginger
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/4 cup honey or a few drops of stevia
Cranberry Sauce Directions:

Wash and pick through cranberries.
Mix all of the ingredients together in a saucepan over medium-high heat. Bring the sauce to a boil, then reduce heat to medium-low and simmer until the berries begin to break, or for about 20 minutes.
Remove from heat and let cranberry sauce sit until it reaches room temperatures. The sauce will thicken as it cools.

This can be made up to 3 days ahead of time

 

Recipe provided by DrJockers.com, given to me by a friend who also loves cranberry sauce at Thanksgiving. 

One thought on “

Comments are closed.