A Week of Being Honest

000blmg onion

Dinner last night: Grand Fail!

The good news: I learned a lot from it.

We went out for Veteran’s Day, celebrating hubs service to his country and our family.

Thank you, Bob! You’re the bravest man I know.  Muahhh!

Our restaurant of choice was offering a free onion to all vets. Yum, my hubs love them. Little did I know that thing had 649 calories.

Yikes! What?! No kiddin’?!!!  Ugh!!!!!!

And if that was not enough, I went on to have a bowl of soup, a roll, steamed broccoli (108 calories, really?!) and 2 small pieces of chocolate candy. Actually, I ate the candy before we left the house, because I had eaten a very light lunch and didn’t want to have low sugar symptoms while we waited for a table.

Interject here some helpful info about the onion place.  If you call ahead, their rule is that you won’t wait more than 20 minutes to be seated once you enter the restaurant, regardless of the normal wait time.  We called ahead, and although I was skeptical, the did seat us on the 20 minute mark. Good job, OSH!

Now, back to our regularly scheduled post:

When all the eating was done for the day, I calculate I swallowed a whopping 2,149 calories yesterday.

Who knew. It didn’t feel like a lot going down. 😉

I’m trying to look at this in a positive way today.

My goal for this week was to honestly record real values concerning what I ate. I’ve struggled with food lately, too much, so I decided it was time to get real about what I was actually putting in my pie hole.  The holidays are coming soon and there will be lots of opportunities to sample, bite, munch, and devour delicious recipes made by many, so I’m concerned. I don’t even want to think about how many calories are in most people’s Thanksgiving meals. And Christmas munching, forget about it!

I needed to take stock of what I was doing before the holidays began to unfold.

I’m not happy about the number of calories I ate yesterday, but I’m glad I’m counting them. An honest inventory of my behavior with food helps me course correct. I’m all about change these days, so having a better handle on what I’m doing is a good, good thing. This is the only way I’ve found to stop eating too much.

I hope your Veterans Day was an opportunity for you to spend quality time with your sweetness.  If your hon is not a veteran, I hope you found a veteran and thanked him or her for the service they provided while in our military.  America is strong because of their sacrifice.

If you’re reading this and you’ve served in some capacity to secure my freedom–THANK YOU!

I’ll end with a picture of my veteran as a babe in arms.  Sooo long ago.  When the world was young…

3 thoughts on “A Week of Being Honest

  1. From my many times there, they do a wonderful job of taking care of their guests. Not cheap, but there are plenty of places that don’t treat their guests as well but still charge plenty.

Comments are closed.