Small Town Discoveries

Yesterday, I said to myself, “Self, get your butt out there and walk.  Take some time for yourself.  Sweat a little.  See some things. Enjoy this crisp fall day. Be present in your own back yard.”

I love it when I talk that way.

I took my advice and I went around town, seeing the sites with a new eye, one honed on small town tranquility. Here’s what I saw:

A park with a gazebo.

DSC_1752

Flowers still blooming next to dried leaves in front of the library.

DSC_1749

My favorite restaurant with a sign out front that advertises locally grown produce. Yum!

DSC_1738DSC_1744

Some amazing architecture.

DSC_1740DSC_1724DSC_1689DSC_1685

I will admit to being irritated by the number of telephone and electric poles that got in the way of some great shots.  I wish all cables of this type were underground. Why can’t they be.  😦

I also saw a very cool street lamp.

DSC_1700

An American flag, a staple for every small town in America.

DSC_1702

A small town vista.  This was taken in front of the small town theatre.  🙂

DSC_1687

A pink house with unique markings. And did you notice that sky. Gorgeous!

DSC_1701

A stone lion. Weird, I know.

DSC_1707

A park bench that has seen much use.

DSC_1710

It was good to get out there today and have some me time.  It’s been too long since I’ve done that.  I started out without my camera, but then went back to get it.  So glad I did.  Hello Fall!

