The Ups and Downs of My Food Plan

Are you up?
Are you down?
Are you still trying to figure it all out.

With your food, I mean–what to eat, what not to eat.  That’s not all bad.

Some days I feel like I am a walking science experiment, as I try to find new ways to eat right and lose weight.  It’s not all bad, though, because in experimenting with foods I am trying new foods, enjoying different foods, and planning various food combinations that I never would have tried before.  In the process, I am beginning to learn how to hear my body speak to me.

This is what I have recently discovered from the experiment:

–I need protein to stave off hunger each day.  I try to eat more plant protein and less animal protein, but I know I need protein in some form at every meal.

–Nuts and berries definitely make for a stronger breakfast combo with my baked oatmeal than nuts alone.  Raspberries taste incredibly sweet to me these days, and almonds and oats have become my mainstay for breakfast fiber, but I have learned to use a discerning eye when portioning out nut meats.  Did you know that only a quarter cup of walnuts contains 200 calories?  Ouch! I’ve learned to go light on the nuts, so extra pounds don’t show up on the scale.

–Suppers, where veggies are queen, make for a better night’s sleep.

–Grains are for morning consumption.  Too many grains at my evening meal result in worse sleep patterns and weight gain/water retention.  I don’t know why.

–Eating out is very hard to do when you’re trying to lose weight.

What kind of discoveries are you making as you continue on your weight loss journey?  I’d love to hear some chatter about exercise, too.  Do tell–what are you doing this summer to stay active and fit?

 

 

