Did Margaret Thatcher get this addiction started?

000soft serve

I have a confession to make.

I love soft serve ice cream.

I know, I know…

It’s not good for me.

It’s full of sugar.
It’s full of air.
It’s full of chemicals.
It’s not at all raw, or clean, or whole, or a vegetable, and I should never eat it, but I love it.

I just learned today that Margaret Thatcher, yes that Margaret Thatcher, was instrumental in the invention of soft serve ice cream. Back in the days before her political career soared she was a food chemist, experimenting with shoving air into ice cream in order to increase profit margins for her employer. Little did she know at that juncture that her work with cream and eggs was going to result in a food addiction for me.

Oh, Margaret, what were we thinking when we took up the challenge to find a substitute for hard scoop ice cream?

My piece of the problem started when, as a child, I was raised on a dairy farm in upstate PA.  As a dairy baby, I learned early to love all things dairy.

Milk.

Cheese.

Butter.

Sour cream.

Sweet cream.

Ice cream.

And eventually, soft serve!!!

These items are full of fat and full of calories, so I know I’m supposed to hate them, but I don’t. I do limit them in my diet, but I have never been able to eliminate them completely.

I probably never will.

The best I can foresee myself doing is moving them (well, really, mostly ice cream) from the category of nasty food habit/guilty pleasure, to “an occasional snack” designation. I’m working on that, but for now I still love soft serve–kiddie size–plain vanilla–any day of the week and not just on weekends.

There, I’ve said it. Now to go on with my day…

What guilty pleasures do you have with food? Which dairy products have you taken out of your diet? What results have you seen?

