How do you do it…

DSC_0389…how do you say NO to that face?

Answer: You don’t!

But if you don’t, then you have to be willing to make a picnic lunch to eat out in the newly greened grass; chase boys around with a bubble wand and later assist them in their battery powered jeep; roll downhill with them, and then across the flat part of the lawn, just because they want to do it and want you to do it with them; and/or sit cross-legged on the living room floor for hours, playing with blocks, legos, and sticker books.

You drive them to the Easter Egg Hunt, and help them find the sparkle egg, so they can win a prize. You sign them up for the basket draw and you look startled when their name is drawn and they are declared winner. You do all these things because you want them to know that they are important, ultimately important to you, and that you love them and want the best for them.

These are the same reasons why I continue to get back on the clean eating wagon after I have fallen off.

This is the source of my motivation to exercise when I don’t feel like it–yeah, it comes from this place.

This is why I am taking better care of myself today than at any other time in my life, because changing the destructive things about myself is hard, but if I want to be a different person, a person who knows self-love, self-worth, self-discipline and the impact of influencing others for good, I have to find a way to dig down deep and discover a tenacity that once alluded me.

I have to want to get better, and that begins with love and concern for me.

Is this face the face that launched  my recovery?  No, but it is one of the faces that keeps it going strong.  I want to live a vital, energetic life for as many years as God has given me, and I don’t want to say I can’t roll downhill because I’m too heavy to walk back up again.  I want to walk, run, jog, skip, bike ride, and hike myself to healthy town, in part because of this face.

When I am tempted to eat that cookie or a bowl of ice cream, I remember that life is not about how much food I can swallow on any given day. It’s about staying healthy and being able to enjoy the good times as they roll by me.  Good times that include this face and others.

I will not return to those days of food lust and immovable fat.  I want more, and I will have it, because change is possible, and it begins with ME!

Why do you want to change?  What keeps you going when before you would have quit?

