Easter & 5Ks

It’s three days past Easter as I’m writing this post, and I’m feeling okay except for another ferocious bout with this sciatica. I did well with the eating over the holiday and wasn’t nearly as aggravated by the presence of sweets in the house as I have been other years. It didn’t bother me at all that I didn’t have a basket of candy for me to eat. I really didn’t care. That’s huge for me. I did do too much this weekend, though, and my back is screaming about it at work and at home.  I’m thinking rice bag and ibuprofen tonight.  Maybe that will help.

I love chocolate, and let’s face it, Easter is a big chocolate holiday. This year, though, I bought a lot less of the stuff. I felt good about that, and we had guests for the weekend who are accustomed to eating more of a plant-based diet, so we consumed lots and lots of raw veggies and fruits, instead of the traditional ham or turkey dinner with all the fixin’s.

I bought licorice and dark chocolate with orange rind in it for our guests baskets. That and some silly string that we had too much fun playing with on Sunday.

Saturday morning we were up and out early, wanting to get to the Easter Egg Hunt on time.  What a gorgeous day it was.  We had a wonderful time watching all the kiddos collecting up eggs as fast as their little legs would carry them around the playground.  One lil guy got his basket hooked on a slide and dumped it all.  He cried and cried, while we helped mom pick up his treasures found.  Eventually, he realized no one was going to pounce on his loot and take it from him and he simmered down.

000bread

On Easter Sunday we went to services early, then got on the road for the long trip to Rochester. Actually, we met up with the kiddos in Bath, NY, eating at a little family owned place in town called Chat-A-Wyle. We hadn’t made reservations, so the wait was about 30 minutes, but the weather was beautiful and Bath has a town square complete with gazebo that is the home of a family of fat squirrels, so we eked out a place on the lawn and enjoyed the sunshine while we waited for the place to empty out a lil bit. We spent two hours at lunch, so we had plenty of time to talk and catch up on the news from the opposite ends of the family tree.

This part of the country is gorgeous in the spring and summer.  We especially like the area around Hammondsport, and went there to enjoy a brunch on our way to pick our guests up on Friday.  There is a little bakery shop there that serves lunch sandwiches on artisan breads, the Keuka Artisan Bakery and Deli. They do a mean Portuguese Chorizo and Kale Soup.  Sooo yummy!  Hubs and I split a tuna melt and the soup, along with a chai tea latte.  We were so glad we didn’t order a sandwich and soup for each of us.  It would have been wayyyy too much food.  If you’re ever in the Hammondsport area, check them out.  You won’t be sorry you did!

I’m still pondering the possibility of organizing a 5K fun run in our area this summer.  Someone suggested I do it on July 4th, but I’m not sure anyone would come out for an Independence Day run. What do you think?  They suggested I do an early morning run and felt like it would be well attended because it was a novel idea.  I don’t know.  I’m still thinking about the logistics of it all. I have two races I will visit and maybe volunteer for in May.  The first is the Guthrie Gallop, on May 10 and the second is the Pound the Ground for Ultrasound on May 24.  The PGU is running for the first time, but its the 30th anniversary for GG, so I should learn a lot from viewing both ends of the spectrum regarding organizational points of the event.  My co-worker just ran her first 5K last weekend and finished 168th out of 220 people. Not bad for a first try, I thought.  She is inspiring me to get moving daily. Now, if I can just get the back to cooperate, we’ll be good.

What do you do for fun in the spring?  If you run, what do you find draws you to an event?

 

One thought on “Easter & 5Ks

  1. I agree about how nice that part of the country is during the spring and summer. I was born in up-state New York and the last time I visited my little town was this time of year and it was great!

Comments are closed.