Light Bulb Moment

Dealing with food…

While I was driving on Wednesday, I had a light bulb moment.

000lightbulbHere’s what I realized: Eliminating those things in life that bring me comfort in an inappropriate way leads me away from the ultimate source of comfort for me, my God.

Makes sense.

People serve all kinds of Gods in their lives.

I don’t want food to be mine.

As of today, I’m applying this new understanding to my meal plan, and I’m taking action to eliminate certain “comfort” foods.  Note: these are current comfort foods for ME, and may not represent a problem for everyone or anyone else.

Coffee: bye-bye.

Dark chocolate covered almonds: see ya around.

Artificial sweeteners: we are going to have to part ways.

I’m on a quest, and about to perform an experiment. I’m eliminating comfort foods from my diet for one week. At the end of that time I’m going to reevaluate where I’m at and apply what I have learned to a new meal plan, new exercise routine, and a new, hopefully more fulfilling relationship with the One that oversees all I do.  We’ll see how it goes and if I can do it without lopping someone’s head off.

Jim, beware.

Jack, take cover.

Joe, it may get brutal on this end, so be careful. 😉

Friends and family: PRAY!!!

Of course, I’ve known for a long time that I like comforting things. Who doesn’t?  But I’m done being satisfied with the scale teetering up and down within a three pound range.  Plus, I think I’m ready to “feel” a little discomfort in order to lose the weight.  If I plan to keep this weight off once I hit my goal (I do, I really, really do!), then I have to learn how to run my life, and not let food run it for me.

Concentrating on exercise…

I’m also thinking about working with others to organize a 5K fun run this summer.

Huge undertaking.

No experience.

Think it is a wonderful “idea”, but can it be done?

What goes into such an event?  Said while trembling just a little.

I’ve wanted to participate in one for a long time, but never did. I have a friend who used to run 5 and 10 K’s all the time. I’m reaching out to her for some advice.

Feeling not so good…

I went to the walk in clinic yesterday and got some meds for a sinus infection. While there the doctor warned me that this coming weekend in NEPA is going to be a bad one for allergy sufferers.  The combination of wind, warmer temps, and the trees in bud make for a trifecta of allergy horror that all of us are just going to have to deal with; such is spring in the great northeast.

I hope that the weather is nice where you are, and that your weekend won’t be ruined by allergens or anything else.  Enjoy the next two days, if you don’t have to work. If you do have to work, thank you for your service to the rest of us on the weekends.  I have worked the weekends a few times in my career, but not many.  I didn’t like it much.

Have you ever had a food or exercise epiphany? 

One thought on “Light Bulb Moment

  1. Sure. When my karate instructor told me I was getting fat! I totally changed my lifestyle because of that.

    When I started running every day was another time.

Comments are closed.