Reporting, Reluctance, and Readiness

000reporterI may have shared it here before, I report my food as a way to stay on track.  I report to a friend who is working to lose weight too.  I do this because I need accountability regarding what I eat, and I know my reporting my food helps her be more aware of her own eating. The habit fosters mindful eating for both of us. When I am reporting, I am thinking about what I eat, before I eat it. And when I report my food I don’t have to count calories–at least that’s the deal I have made with myself prior to this past week.  Now, even though I hate counting calories, I have found that I must count calories AND report my food to stay on track and keep the scale moving downward.  Boo, Hiss, Blurg!

And, Ugh!

Can I say that again?

UGH!

I hate despise counting calories, but I have a few things going on with me medically that make it ubber important that I control caloric intake, plus I urgently need to finally put this food obsession behind me–or at least move it out-of-the-way so that I don’t have to think about it every minute of every day.

I also need to exercise.  I can’t walk right now (Plantar Fasciitis and temperatures near 2 degrees F in PA), but I can cycle, so I’ve bought a recumbent bike.  The bike is now sitting in my living room and each night I do between 30 and 60 minutes of cycling while I read, watch TV, or talk with my family members.  Sometimes I use free weights while I bike, for a double workout.  So far, so good, except for the fact that I have not lost any weight.

You can read about that here.

I have visited other blogs that incorporate food photos into their writing.  I think I may begin doing this, but I have to say that some sensations of hesitancy surface when I think about doing so.  Or maybe unwillingness is a better word.  It feels more revealing to me to photograph my food and share that part of me with readers of this blog.  I don’t know why.  Maybe because it means I will be forced to strip off another layer of the disease of compulsive eating I have been hiding behind for years.

But I want to recover.

I want to lose weight.

I hate counting calories, but…

I want to see the number on the scale go down.

Come on, L, get with the program!

To get past my resistance, I am making this picture-taking a part of my current intentions list.

I intend to photograph what I eat for the rest of this week, and share those pics with my friend first, then maybe here.  We’ll see how it goes.  The good news: This morning I stepped on the scale and was down 1.5 lbs.  See I thought it was water weight that was hanging me up, from the homemade soup last week. But last night I wondered if the advil I had taken for a few nights might be a culprit, too.  I didn’t take the advil last night and this morning, Voila, the scale had moved once again.  Of course, I really closely watched what I ate yesterday too, and we know that helps.

I’m experimenting right now…looking for that mix of concepts/techniques/strategies that will spell SUCCESS for me.  If you have any thoughts, share freely. I’m always open to suggestion, which is why fast food commercials worked on me for so many years.  😉

What about you?  Do you find yourself resistant to suggestions that could spell SUCCESS for your weight loss efforts?  Why or why not?

2 thoughts on “Reporting, Reluctance, and Readiness

  1. I just wanted to say that I suggested the photos for you to see, not to put on here for others. Really, the more you make this about YOU the stronger you will be. Also, if you do ever learn portion control, you won’t need to calorie count. Lastly, I didn’t say this before, but thought it 🙂 I rarely buy stuff in cans because of the chemicals in can liners, but mostly the salt in canned stuff. You’ll get a better broth by just microwaving fresh veggies and adding water. Perhaps if you learn to make simpler meals you can do them faster.

    • Can you really get a good broth from the microwave? Really?

      I’m a little shy about the pics, but I thought I might try it a time or two on here.

      I’m not sure I know how to make this about ME, just me. Hmmm, that’s something to contemplate.

      BTW: “Dan” is having the full gastric bypass surgery on March 10.

Comments are closed.