Drawing Circles

One of the books I received as a Christmas gift from myself, to myself (I do that sometimes), is The Circle Maker, by Mark Batterson. It’s a book on prayer.

I believe in prayer. Not as a magic tool to gain all the favors in the world for lil ole me. No, I believe in prayer as a method of reaching out to God and receiving back from his Spirit guidance, confirmation, direction and instructions for life. I believe prayer helps me to achieve spiritual stability in my life, and I also believe it helps me to be a better person.

000circle maker

The Circle Maker, so far as I can tell at this point is all about encouraging its readers to develop a stronger prayer life, and get plugged into the benefits of dreaming big dreams and accomplishing big things. I’m all in.

I would like to develop a stronger prayer life.
I would like to learn how to benefit from deeper meditation.
I would like to know God better.
I would like to pattern myself after biblical heroes who achieved great things.
I would like to feel connected to my original unfragmented self.
I would like to do the seemingly impossible (for me).

Will these things happen for me if I read The Circle Maker and apply the information I find there. I’m not convinced that they will, but I know this to be true, if nothing changes, nothing changes.

Change is possible and changed is essential if I want to get to places I have never gotten to before. If I want to achieve something I have not done before. If I want to realize the goal of losing all the weight I want to lose need to lose.  If I want to eat better, exercise more, love with a great intensity and be more useful to others, I have to change what I’m doing right now. That doesn’t mean I’m not helpful to others right now, I try to be. What it means is if I want to be more helpful, I have to put more energy into being more helpful, and part of that process for me is getting to my goal weight. My goal weight is where more energy lives.

I want to be a role model for my family, an example of a strong, capable woman.

I want them to look at me and say, hey, if she did that, I can reach my goal. I know they can!

I want to eat and exercise with integrity, and not just for the short run, but in the long run.

I want to be more healthy inside next year than I was when I turned thirty.

I want all this and more, which means I must change.

I must believe that I can do what I have not to this point done–be consistent with exercise routines.

I’m hoping I can.

I’m willing to draw a circle if that will make it easier to get there. I’m very willing to pray to help me get there. I’m also willing to take advice and apply it to my situation to the best of my ability.

I think my body is finally ready to cooperate with my spirit in this contest. Maybe by this time next year I will be a circle maker too. Maybe before that!

