Gaining by Losing

000gaining thru losingHappy New Year’s everyone!

As I write this post, I am thinking about all the things that have changed in my life over the last twelve months because I was willing to try new things.  I’m usually a traditional kinda gal, who doesn’t like to mix it up too much.  However, in 2013 I let go of what wasn’t working, and began practicing being more positive and supportive of others. I feel as though I gained through losing more than once after making these changes.  What do I mean by that?  Just that sometimes you have to make a decision to do things differently in life in order to keep moving forward and progressing with your plans.  My overall goal to get healthy and stay fit while losing weight has benefited by every change I made.  I’ve decided to chronicle some of those here.

2013 Changes 

During 2013 I gained more confidence by going kayaking for the first time. I loved it, and I will definitely be doing it again this year.

I also gained more confidence by letting go of a friendship that wasn’t working for me.  I’ve found that trying to hold onto people for security’s sake is destructive.  Some folks come into your life for a reason, some for a season, and some for the whole kit and caboodle, no matter how messy it gets.  Once I accepted that this friend was a friend for a season, I was able to speak the truth in love and willing to accept her decision was to walk away from the friendship.  As she put it, we were no longer on the same wave length.  I think we are both better for the change.

During 2013  I committed to being a more positive influence in the world, believing that a more positive approach to things makes for more positive results.  I feel confident that I have gained a new perspective by losing the negativity.  Yay!

I gained better health through losing a few suspicious moles on my feet this year.  I didn’t enjoy the surgery, but now that it is over and the test results show no cancer, I can breathe a little easier.  The incision is healing nicely, and hopefully I will have no more problems in this area in the new year.

I gained a better understanding and greater love for my sister and brother-in-law by traveling to North Carolina to see them this fall.  We had not gotten together since my husband’s parents passed, so the visit was long overdue and a much-needed time away.  It was fun traveling though NC, TN, VA, WV, MD and PA with my hubs.  Definitely the outta-Dodge experience we needed to head into winter’s bleak landscape.

I also got through the holiday season, Thanksgiving to New Year’s, without gaining any weight–this was my last hoorah and HUGE goal for year’s end.  All totaled, I lost 2.5 lbs.  I’m feeling pretty good about that.

2014 Challenges

As a new year begins, I’m thinking about some of the things I hope to achieve during those twelve months.

1.  I hope to find an exercise program I can do without too much pain.  My sciatica is acting up, so may be time to investigate yoga a little more closely.  I would also like to try swimming.

2.  I hope to redefine my eating plan once more, tweaking things a little and making a more concerted effort to write things down, report foods, and concentrate on increasing the nutrient values in my food, while reducing the amount of processed foods I eat.  These are the strategies that work for me.

3.  I hope to write more.

4.  I hope to do a whole lot more kayaking, and would like to purchase a kayak of my own.

5.  I hope to put into action on a more consistent basis my belief that change is possible!

What will you do to make 2014 the best year yet for you?  What is the one thing you’ve been thinking about changing about yourself?  How will you make it happen this year?

One thought on “Gaining by Losing

Comments are closed.