Surgery Update and FOUR lbs Lost

Surgery Update:  On Friday, December 6th, I had my foot surgery. I write about it here because I’ve mentioned not being able to exercise in the past because of my problems with Plantar Fasciitis and wanted to provide an update. You might remember me writing about problems with PF and bone spurs, and mentioning that during a routine check for that problem my podiatrist observed a mole on the bottom of my foot. I’d known it was there for a while, but I didn’t think it was anything to be concerned about, or that it needed medical attention. He suggested I have dermatology look at it (they did), and through a long series of events (this had been going on since July of 2013), we finally decided that a plastic surgeon should be asked to excise the moles. Yep, you heard me right, we found a second mole on the toe, so that one went bye-bye too.

I’m fair-skinned, and as a child I lived on a farm. These two facts explain why I have a fair amount of sun damage on my skin, but I never thought sun damage would be a problem on the bottom of my feet. Really? What’s that about?!

Anyway, last Friday the moles were removed. Biopsy results should be forthcoming on Monday.

000ice cream

Four Pounds Lost:  During all the chaos that has been my life the last month of so, I have vowed to lose weight. Not maintain my weight, and not gain a little bit during the holidays, but actually lose weight. So far, so good. I have lost 4 lbs since Thanksgiving. It hasn’t been incredibly easy to lose those pounds, but it hasn’t been horribly difficult either. For me, success is spelled S.U.R.R.E.N.D.E.R.

I daily surrender to the fact that I am not like normal people when it comes to eating and that I have issues that include fantasizing about foods. I look at a bowl of ice cream and see a creamy cloud of sugary bliss that is hard to turn down.  Other people look at that same bowl of ice cream and see ice cream. There are days when I wish I were like them, but then I remember that we all have our weaknesses, and that if I knew what they struggled with I might not be so anxious to trade places with them.

For today, it is enough to know that I don’t have to eat a big bowl of ice cream in order to feel good.  I will survive if I don’t have it. Not only that, I will be healthier and feel better about myself if I don’t eat it, especially when I’m trying to accomplish something that is made ten times harder if I decide to “just have a tiny taste.” Ice cream is my kryptonite, so whenever I avoid it, I feel empowered by the choice I’ve made.

I’m marching forward with my plan to lose weight between now and New Year’s.  I’d like to lose another 4 lbs. Can I do it?  Time will tell.  Wish me well.  I’m wishing the same for you.

2 thoughts on “Surgery Update and FOUR lbs Lost

  1. How much did the moles weigh??

    Just kidding! Great job! You are learning, and I guarantee if you continue to make good choices and not feed the addictions, it will get easier as you retrain your brain!

    Trust me, I’m a doctor 🙂

    • LOL!

      I recently got my hair cut too, with the bangs wayyyy too short. The moles and hair together had to weigh at least a quarter pound, don’t ya think? I need to quit belly aching about those short bangs and we thankful! 🙂

Comments are closed.