Pulling My Hair Out

000hair out

I know, it has been weeks and weeks since my last post. During my time away I have been pulling my hair out trying to get everything done and falling short of that goal.  Other things have forced their way to the forefront on my life, pushing out the time I have needed to write. In a word–It has been hectic around here. Pulling one’s hair out hectic, and you know that is not good!

In addition to your run-of-the-mill, can’t-write-right-now stuff I’ve been facing down, the following other things have kept me from posting for a few weeks:

1. Writer’s Block–that feeling that I have nothing of significance to say.

2. Family Crisis.

3. Holiday planning.  Thanksgiving Day happened.

4. More Holiday planning.  Christmas shopping needed to be done.

5. Exhaustion.  I’ve felt overwhelmed.

Two days ago, I received an email that posed a simple question: Why have you stopped blogging?

I thought about that for a long, long time.  Last night I pondered it once more.  This morning, I again wondered, why have I stopped blogging?

No, why really?

I’m not sure I have an answer for that, or at least a good one or fully developed one.  What I’ve shared with you today is the best I can offer as an explanation, but I will tell you this, I’m glad someone asked.  Thank you, DJ!

Sometimes, when life is overwhelming, when things happen that I can’t explain, when suffering seems to go on and on and on, with no end in sight, I get weary.  I get tired. I lose my perspective and my inspiration, and I retreat.  I think I’ve done that a little bit the last few weeks, but always, ALWAYS, writing has been the one thing that kept me sane in life. So, today, I’m writing.  I’m reaching out. I’m communicating.  I’m sharing.  I’m hoping what I have to share in significant for someone reading this.  I’m thankful that someone cares.

The good news regarding my hiatus from blogging is that I have not fallen off the wagon with food.  In fact, I have another personal challenge I’ve been working on that began a week before Thanksgiving.  I made it my goal to not only eat right during the holidays, but to lose weight in the time frame that exists between Thanksgiving Day and New Year’s.

So far, I’ve have lost three pounds.  Yay!

Right now, I am focusing on eating only what I need to feel satiated, but not enough to feel full.  I picked up that gem from reading Dr. Joel Fuhrman’s book, The End of Diabetes.  So far, so good.  I’m excited to learn this new technique and apply it to my health program.

My long-awaited foot surgery happens this Friday, Dec 6.  I have decided, after a long journey with medical folks, to have a plastic surgeon in Elmira, NY remove my suspicious moles.  Because of where they are and not knowing how deep they go, we are having the full OR experience for this procedure, something I hate to think about.  I hate all the folderol associated with such things, but PS will not do the procedure in his office, so off to the OR we go.  A day of waiting, cutting, stitching and waiting some more is in my future. Like I said, I hate the thought of it, but everyone agrees that these lil buggers have to go, so go they will!  If you think of me on Friday, say a prayer.  I hope this procedure is quick, painless, and done–soon!  Then a few days of R&R and I’ll be back to work and back to blogging, maybe sooner.

I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday, and that your blessed Christmas is on its way. Remember, whatever else you do this year during the holidays that there will always be another (you fill in the blank) to eat, so you don’t have to eat it all right now.  I’m making that my holiday mantra, and my prayer. 😉

