Unprocessed October Update

It’s been days since my last blog post, so I want to catch up a little this morning.

Between the big road trip of 2013, getting sick while on the road, coming back to work with a stack of stuff to catch up on, and preparing for minor surgery to have those pesky moles removed (happening this afternoon), life has been wayyyy more busy in my corner of the world than I would like it to be.  I’m exhausted.

I can’t believe that I decided to do the Unprocessed October challenge in the same month that all this stuff was going on–was I crazy?  I have to admit that I have not done nearly as well as I had hoped on this challenge.  Being away from home for so many days, I have eaten things I never would have eaten on this challenge, and I have had my meals dictated for me on several occasions.  I have to admit though, the times when I sat down to a meal family fixed, the food was good. Better than good–delicious.

During the big road trip of 2013, we rented a car and drove to North Carolina, where we spent two and a half days with family.  My niece is eating whole and healthy these days, so while we were there we enjoyed steaks and baked potatoes, egg and pancake breakfasts with fresh fruit, a sweet potato quinoa and kale dish that was fabulous, and lots and lots of hugs.  It was good catching up with everyone and meeting new members of the family.

After leaving there, we traveled to Grandfather Mountain, outside Boone, NC.  If you have never been to this beautiful piece of property in the south, oh, my, you must go.  It was just gorgeous this time of year, with the temperatures in a comfortable range and the fall leaves in full foliage.  Breathtaking, really.  There are many hiking trails, a mile-high swinging bridge, a wild life habitat with a new bald eagle, bears, and mountain lions, and some of the best cherry cider this gal has ever tasted.  We loved our time on Grandfather Mountain.

After leaving Boone, we traveling through TN, VA, WV, and on to Baltimore, MD. We hoped to visit the inner harbor at Baltimore, but by that time I was pretty sick with the stomach bug/flu, and my hubs hates inner city life. We finally decided to can the plan to visit the harbor, and headed north to Lancaster, PA instead.  Along the way, we saw the Conowingo Dam and hydroelectric plant outside Lancaster. Hubby was really impressed with this site and enjoyed talking about it with family when we had returned home.  We also visited a Harley Davidson shop along the way and watch as the PA state police helicopter got ready to take off.  Isn’t it funny how the little things in life mean so much to us?

As I mentioned earlier, I was sick while we were on the road. Ugh!  I worried before I left that I would gain weight while on vacation, because I knew even though we would try to make good food choices, we were going to eat out a lot–no doubt about it.  Had too, and anyway, that’s what road trips are all about, along with burning up tires and seeing lots of interstates.  I actually ended up losing 5 lbs while I was away, due in part to lack of appetite and that stupid stomach bug which is still with me, but in small part, today.

I took Bob to see the Sight and Sound theatre while we were in Lancaster. We couldn’t take in the show though. They were totally sold out, as they are many weekends and through the summer.  I would love to go for their Christmas show this year, but we’ll see.  It’s a long ride from home, and winter driving in PA is iffy, at best.  I love live theatre!

We were back home by Sunday evening and I was sooo, sooo happy to be sleeping in my own bed.

Unprocessed October has been a dream for me during 2013, but I can’t really yet claim it as a reality.  I have tried to eat clean and stay unprocessed, but I have not been 100% by any stretch of the imagination.  I still have 8 days to go in the challenge, but will be on the road again this weekend, so I don’t know how smoothly that will go. I have a birthday celebration to attend on Saturday and will be eating at another’s house all weekend.  I guess the best I can say right now is that I am being as diligent as I can be with this challenge, and trying to get better before I have to head out again, for my next road trip. This one will only be 3 hrs from home and I do it all the time, so I’m not worried.

How have you done with your eating this month?

Do you like road trip?  What is your favorite part of traveling?

Have a great weekend, everyone. I will try to post again next week. Until then, eat well and don’t forget: Change is Possible!

 

3 thoughts on “Unprocessed October Update

  1. Maintain the loss!

    On one trip to Virginia we took the scenic route rather than 95! Went to Asheville then Blowing Rock and Boone! We climbed Grandfather Mountain! Drove the Blue Ridge Parkway to Virginia!

    Like you say, the whole area is wonderful!

Comments are closed.