We did it, We did it, We did it!

We went kayaking on Keuka Lake in Hammondsport, NY on Saturday, and we survived. Was there any doubt?

Ummm, yeah!

I’d never been kayaking before, so I was a bit intimidated with the whole process, but I had been wanting to do it for a while. Saturday, we did–me and my hubs.

I’ll post a bunch of pictures later today, but for now, the final celebration after my initial two hours on the water.

Yay!

I think I laughed harder on this trip than I have laughed in years. Let me just say this–tandem kayaking is not for the faint of heart or those with anger issues. Ha! It was hilarious trying to get two adults to do the same thing at the same time while staying afloat. H.I.L.A.R.I.O.U.S.

More to come…

…but for now, this picture of the victory lap.

DSC_0379

6 thoughts on “We did it, We did it, We did it!

  1. I love kayaking! BF and I took advantage of a recent heat wave to do an overnight on a foggy cold bay, which was in the 70s due to heat wave. I got massively sunburnt, as I never see any sun except on my lunchtime walk, if I’m lucky. Then we froze as we fought the wind the next day to return. Spectacular!

    • Yay! This was my first experience with kayaking, but I guarantee you that I will do it again. Sooo much fun!

      I am very fair skinned, so I had to slather up with sunscreen twice (one slather per hour), and I still had a bit of a tingle at the end of the day on my face. I’m wondering, what do Scandinavians do? How do they protect themselves from the sun’s burning rays? What am I doing wrong? I never tan. I burn and peel, burn a peel–or at least I did as a kid. Now, I slather, slather, slather!!!

  2. Just to keep you in the loop, lol I went kayaking today!!

    All did not go as planned 😦 When I got to where we store our kayaks (a one hour drive to the gulf) our keys did not fit a new lock that had been put on! %&()*&!! So I went to where they rent kayaks, CLOSED today! Then back at my condo, which was deserted when we arrived, ONE truck was parked in the lot and that angel had two kayaks that he let us use!!

    The estuaries were beautiful and we saw a huge flock of Roseate Spoonbills!

    http://hdwallpaperer.com/2013/4752/the-roseate-spoonbill/

    • First, let me get this outta the way: Woohoo!!!!

      I’m sorry that the trip didn’t turn out the way you planned it, but glad you found a way to roll with the punches.

      Man, alive, those birds are HUGE! How big are they? And ugly lookin’, or weird might be the better word. I LOVE the scarlet hue, though. Amazing! How close did you get to them? Thanks for providing the link, so I could see what you saw. We saw nothing so exotic on our trip across the lake. A few ducks, three swans, and lots of seaweed. 🙂

Comments are closed.