What to do with Wheat

000bagels

It’s day NINE of my August Action initiative and I have lost the two pounds I gained on the weekend, and gone down another 2 lbs.  I have not been able to move as much as I had hoped when beginning the challenge for August, but I have moved more than I would have, without it.  The challenge has reminded me each day of the need to be consciously aware of how much I am moving, how many calories I am burning, and what I am eating to off set the loss or gain ratio.  I love that I am not foggy headed right now, due to the lack of processed sugar in my diet.  I have been reading Wheat Belly for the last few weeks, when I can find the time, and it has changed how I look at carbs, for sure.

I wanted to write a bit about Wheat Belly today, and how it is affecting my thinking about food.  Frankly, it scares me.  I have been depending on whole grains to provide the fiber I need in my diet for some time now.  I have eaten more WGs, because I thought that it would move my digestion along better than before I started on this journey to health. And it has.  Since including more WGs in my diet, my digestion has improved, quite a bit.  Since cutting back on WGs, after reading Wheat Belly, my digestion has slowed.  Not good.  I have tried to replace the fiber in WGs with nuts-most notably raw almonds–but I am still seeing a slow down in digestion.  How does one offset this, if one does not partake of WGs?

I’m a little disappointed in Wheat Belly, since the original premise of the book shifts along the way.  At first the reader is told, just eliminate wheat from your diet and you will see decreased blood sugar spikes (something I want, since diagnosed with the Big D), only to read on and find that no, it isn’t just wheat and grain that needs to be eliminated to achieve health.  At the end of the book, the same wisdom comes to bear in the author’s suggestions for optimal health as I am reading other places: get rid of the junk food, eat more veggies, less fruit, a whole lot less grains and you will lose weight and get healthy.  Good advice, and it works, but that is not the original premise of the book, nor the hook the author puts in the water to attract bait.

As I said early, Wheat Belly scares me a little bit.

I would love to hear others comment on the removal of wheat from the diet.  I do think it is responsible for a lot of the addictive behaviors I have struggled with re: carbs, in the past.  I will be taking whole grains out of my diet for a few weeks, and then reevaluate how I feel.

Have you eliminated whole grains or wheat from your diet?  How does it make you feel?  Please share.  Thanks, and have a healthy weekend!

8 thoughts on “What to do with Wheat

  1. I cut down on bread almost completely after I realized it doesn’t fill me anymore. It feels more as if I ate some air with a nice taste, and this got very nerve wreaking when I’m constantly hungry, though I already ate 3 slices of bread.

    It took me quite a while to find something to replace it in the morning and by now I finally settled with muesli mix of yoghurt, milk, a little peanut butter, some cinnamon and my favourite bio muesli. Sometimes I also add an apple or banana to it, but that’s it then, and it fills me up for the next 3 – 4 hours.

    Hope this helps.
    Oh, occasionally I still eat bread but usually only, when my mom made it herself 😉

    • Thanks for sharing your experience, Hanni. I’m not a big fan of bread, per se. For example, I could go a long, long time without ever craving a sandwich or a slice of bread. I don’t care for cake, nor cake-type confections. I hate donuts. But I love my bagel in the morning. I will be sorry to see her go.

      I hear what you’re saying about switching things up in the morning. I would like to get to the place where I could eat some protein and lots of veggies for breakfast, but it seems so weird to do that. Old habits die hard and long death, right? I have gotten to the place where I am somewhat comfortable eating a couple HB’d eggs and some veggies for breakfast, but I also add that half bagel in the mix. I would say, “A half bagel, what ya yappin’ about? that’s not much.” I would say that, except for the fact that I was stuck on a plateu with my weight for 7 long months, and eliminating the wheat has changed that. Of course, NO JUNK JULY helped with that too, I know.

      I’m not totally convinced by what I read in Wheat Belly, but if cutting out the bagel translates to a measurable loss in weight, I’m all for it.

      Eat well, Hanni, and again, thanks for sharing.

  2. I don’t think you need to be extreme with avoiding grains unless you have an obvious problem with them. Do select them carefully as in choosing whole grains, and always combine them with some protein to blunt the Insulin affect.

    • Thanks, Dr. J, for the insight. I have been pairing protein with WGs, when I do eat wheat. Question: I have heard that WW break spikes blood sugar more than most anything. Is that reliable information, and if so, how much is too much for someone with diabetes to eat?

    • Thank you! I had bought some sprouted flour a while ago, but have yet to use it. Do you have a favorite recipe I could try? I’m not sure about this bread, does it have wheat in it/added to it?

Comments are closed.