No Junk July–A HUGE Success!

Today is the last day of July 2013, and I have good news to report.  During July this year I vowed that I would make a concerted effort to remove junk from my diet.  I did not name the junk I would remove, because my junk and your junk might be two different kinds of junk, but I knew what my junk was and I knew it needed to go.  Having this initiative or challenge in place during July has reminded me every day–today, girl, you need to off load the junk. I did it.  It worked.  Here are the results and what I have learned during No Junk July, in addition to what I shared a few days ago:

1.  Challenges help me to stay focused.

2.  I am not perfect, nor can I attain perfection, but I can strive to do better.

3.  Junk weighs me down.

4.  I can do anything for one day.

5.  I can string one day’s success into two days.

6.  Fresh veggies for breakfast really do power up the day.

7.  Avoiding processed foods is not as hard as I thought it would be.

8.  I don’t have to depend on others to do what I can do for myself.

9.  Having other health and fitness bloggers out there helps provide support every day to people like me who are trying to get better.

10. Change IS possible!

The best news of all is that I lost 4 lbs during July.  After stepping on that scale at home and seeing the same numbers for seven months, that’s significant to me–well worth the effort with No Junk July!  🙂

lego weight lifter

As July turns to August I will be looking for another challenge.  If you’ve been looking for a challenge or a way to motivate yourself to get moving on your own goals, I would invite you to join me for what I am at this moment calling August Action.  During August, I will be trying new and hopefully more effective ways to move and burn calories.  I may even try swimming, an idea I have played around with for a while.

If you think of me this month, say a prayer for my success, won’t you?  If you want to join me on my August Action adventure, contact me here and I’ll add you to the list of people who are interested.  The great thing about August Action is that its a program defined by you, monitored by you, meant to encourage you, and in all ways about you and your efforts to get healthy.

I’m psyched!  Here we go…………..

 

2 thoughts on “No Junk July–A HUGE Success!

  1. Hey, Lori!
    Congrats for your success! *hugs*

    I really like the Idea of a monthly challenge, so please sign me up to your August Action challenge, since I also don’t move enough and I really should make it a habit to go for a walk more often.

    Cheers!

Comments are closed.