No Junk July Friday Report

000elephant

Three times this week I have said to people in my circle of influence: How do you eat an elephant? Answer:  One bite at a time!

It’s a corny joke I learned when I was still young enough to hide in the cornfields around our country farmhouse, but it’s true.

Big projects call for baby steps.

No Junk July is working for me this week, and I attribute that to the fact that I have quit obsessing over the entire month and taken action to break it into bite-sized pieces, focusing on one day for my food planning and eating and when that is finished, moving on. Admittedly, last weekend I hit a few snags and fell into a pit or two, but since then I have been doing well with my food. I am being mindful of my sugar intake–practically nil–and drinking tons and tons of water. This morning, I decided to forego Splenda in my morning Joe. Woohoo, that’s progress people. I love my coffee light and sweet, but I know that stuff is no good for struggling cells and organs–both of which need all the help I can give them.

I have been having trouble sleeping. It’s allergy season in the great northeast (it’s always allergy season in the GNE), so I’m not the only one suffering with stuffed noses, clogged ear ways, or pounding heads, but man, it makes it tough to get a good night’s sleep.  I have been dragging my exhausted self to work each morning, wishing and praying I could have just one more hour of sleep before I had to get up and throw back the covers.

Did I say one hour? How about 30 minutes…or ten minutes? Maybe five minutes…

I have been reporting my food to a friend this week, hoping that would help me stay focused and accountable.  It has.  She reciprocates, which makes it easier to report next time I eat.  Peer pressure can be a good thing.  Plus, I get to be exposed to the food another person chooses to eat and in what amounts.  She is on a paleo diet, so sometimes I worry that the carbs in my plan are going to throw her off track, be a trigger for her, but she’s says its fine.  She is just beginning to emerge from the pain and inflammation carbs have been causing her for years, so she is good with foregoing them.  She feels better every day too.

It’s amazing how food and changes in our diet can aid not only digestion, but the whole of our bodies.  Why wasn’t I told this sooner?

I came across this article, that talks about the American Medical Association’s new designation of obesity as a disease, on the Huffington website.  Finally, someone who understands that medical doctors are not the best equipped individuals to deal with obesity [my strong opinion].  It might seem like they are, but my experience has proven that they don’t know how to instruct their patients regarding diet, at least not all of them.  They just pull up the government’s food pyramid, or the new food plate diagram during an appointment and say, “Do that.”

Uh, no, that doesn’t work.  It might work for some people.  It doesn’t work for all people.  We are individuals, with individual needs.

Finally, someone who is someone is saying that doctors are not going to be able to help in this area UNLESS things really change in their practices and understanding of disordered eating.  I learned much more about my condition and how to help it from reputable bloggers than my MD.  He doesn’t mean to be without the help I need, he just is–so I had to find it somewhere else.

I’m still undecided about whether disordered eating is diseased eating, but I agree with this guy about the fact that either way, doctors may not be the best people to guide patients they see in their practices to better health through eating right.

I want to finish up this week with a few questions for you.  Feel free to share your thoughts.

1.  How much fruit do you include in your daily food plan?

2.  How much fat can I cut from my diet without experiencing problems?

3.  What’s the best exercise to do at home, that doesn’t involve walking, running, or jumping?

3 thoughts on “No Junk July Friday Report

  1. It sounds like you are doing well! I eat several pieces of fruit a day. Often some berries, an apple, and whatever else is in season.

    As far as fat goes – I ate 30 percent of my calories from fat when losing weight, which gave me room for healthy fats but didn’t get me a lot of room for junky fats from chips or ice cream.

    How about strength training at home? That’s an awesome exercise and so versatile.

    • I was wondering how much you cut the fat when losing, Diane, so that is good to know. I want to take a stab at cutting fat next, after No Junk July is over. Right now I’m focused on getting through the month with the least amount of junk in my system as is possible. I did some work with the exercise ball over the weekend and that seemed to work, but I do have a few weights, too. I will try that this week. Thank you for being willing to help me on my journey to “better”. I appreciate you!

  2. I’m ambivalent about that article. Just because we didn’t get it in medical school means little. Medicine is a huge field, there’s a lot we didn’t get in school. Any good doctor learns plenty after meed school.

    In my opinion, the most important thing to lose weight is wanting to! And I mean WANTING TOO! No one can give us that. You either find that in yourself or you don’t.

Comments are closed.