No Junk July

food wrappers

A few weeks ago I read the blog of a gal who was trying to make her way through No Junk June.  I’m not sure if No Junk June was her idea or if it is a national push toward eating right and escaping the scourge of fast food during the month of June, but it sure sounded good to me. Since I was half way through June when I came upon this gal’s blog, I decided I couldn’t take up the challenge in June, but July might be a good time to try something different.  I’d been moving closer and closer to a whole food plan for months, but still had a few niggling habits with soft serve ice cream I needed to work out.

For some reason, ice cream and summertime are inseparable in my mind.

Anyway, I am two days into No Junk July and feeling pretty good, but I’m not sure how great I’m doing.  I had a sub for lunch today.  Grilled Chicken on Whole Wheat.  It was loaded with veggies, and the chicken was real, but what about the bread?

I have to decide if I’m going to classify a roll made by others as fast food.  Today, I say NO, it is not fast food. Tomorrow I may change my mind.  Here’s the thing though, I don’t bake bread, so unless I eat bread that someone else has made, I can’t eat any bread while I’m eating my way through No Junk July.  I can’t see that working for me, so for now bread stays on the list of wholesome foods to eat, and not junk.

I will limit how much bread I buy and consume during July, but I will not forfeit bread eating all together.

I eat very little fast food at this stage in my healthy development.  I do have the occasional soft serve (see earlier admission of this guilty pleasure), and I had been drinking coffee with artificial sweeteners.  Until yesterday–that’s when I classified artificial sweeteners as fast food for this month and decided I will not be partaking.

Oh, boy, can I do this?

I will definitely be seeking out different brands of coffee to consume during July, so that I can curb the bitter and increase the smooth taste I want in my brew.  Without cream and sugar, coffee is a whole ‘nother beast, so wish me well as I make the switch from light to dark, and robust to smooth.

No Junk July means I will have to tweak my Saturday morning “me time”.  Usually on a Saturday, I escape the day-to-day grind of making a living and crawl off to a dark corner somewhere to be alone and read, write, and get ready for a class I facilitate on Sundays.  Not having my creamy sweet coffee to escape with will be hard.

Maybe I should side step the coffee all together and go all tea for July. We’ll see.

Wish me well as I begin this July adventure, free of the junk.  I’m hoping to report that all went well by month’s end. I will be continuing to follow all my regular bloggers and find encouragement from them while I’m trying this.  So glad to be doing this with their help.  Together, we get better!

3 thoughts on “No Junk July

  1. You can do it! Like I tell my kids, “You can do anything for a short time.” And with this type of challenge, you will learn a lot about yourself.

    The good thing is that you decide what to eat and not someone telling you what is right for you – I like that a lot.

  2. I hope that you get to the point one day where a guilty pleasure, some bread, or whatever doesn’t really matter anymore because you have succeeded in your challenge.

    It really does exist, but you have to earn it at this point.

Comments are closed.