Magic Wands and other fantasies

wand

Before I finally seriously addressed my weight problem and food addictions, I had waited around for years for “the inspiration” to start to over take me.  I expected that when the “urge” to succeed did finally kick in, I would work that diet like a gang buster and see immediate and gratifying change.  I imagined myself being whittled down to nothing.  It would all happen when my magic wand appeared.

It wasn’t only a magic wand I fantasized about when it came to weight loss, though. Oh, no.  I also imagined a magical elevator, an elevator that was constantly going up and down through the days of my life.  As of yet, it had not stopped at my floor, but when it did, oh, boy, things were going to be different.  I would finally have that bit of wisdom/strength/intuition/willpower (insert your own “whatever” here), I thought I was missing in my last endeavor to lose weight and keep it off, and this time, it would be different. 

Sadly, my elevator never came. Nor did my magic wand.

Eventually, I became involved with a group of people who said, “The weight didn’t come on over night, and it isn’t going to leave that way either.  This is going to take time.” 

Time?

I didn’t want losing all that weight to take time.  How long, I wondered? What do they mean, I wondered?  Is time all it will take, I wondered?

Time was not all it took. 

Losing weight also meant I would have to surrender to a plan of eating that ran counter to my previous eating habits.  It took concentration and conversation with others who had seen long-term success and knew what it looked and felt like.  It took belief in the concept that long-term weight loss could be had by anyone determined enough to pursue it, and it took repetition.

I had to learn through trial and error that success is spelled R-E-P-E-T-I-T-I-O-N. 

What finally worked for me, was doing the things that had previously brought success, but doing them over and over, and over again. 

Once I realized that this or that strategy worked, I repeated it, and it worked again.  After a string of experiments I learned what I had been missing in all those other failed attempts to sustain weight loss–the determination to do once more what had worked before. 

If nothing changes, nothing changes, and the only form of permanence we can attain in this life comes through repetition. I believe these statements to be true.

I didn’t find relief from food obsession at fast food restaurants, buffets, or high-end coffee shops.  I found it in calculated research, applied science, and doing the same things again and again, and yet again.

Some routines pay big benefits.  Find out which ones, and make them a part of your weight loss strategy.  The plan works, if you work it.

graphic: saucysocialmedia.com

One thought on “Magic Wands and other fantasies

Comments are closed.