Calcium Slow Down

Calcium: have you ever had a problem with this supplement?

I’ve recently started taking Calcium supplements again, and the results have not been good. I don’t know if this is a problem common to others, but whenever I put additional calcium into my body, my digestive system slows to almost a crawl.  What’s with that? 

A few days ago I talked to a friend about the slow down.  She knows that I have switched to a whole, raw foods diet and gotten away from processed foods, well, for the most part.  We talked about what was happening with me, and possible options.  In the end, it seemed like stopping the calcium supplements was the best choice for me, so I did. 

I worry about all the potential health affects of not getting enough calcium into my body.  And I worry about the different types of calcium I might ingest, chemically created calcium, that is,  not from plant based or animal based sources.  I worry that I will get osteoporosis.  All women have to worry about calcium intake, right? 

I am really struggling with the thought of taking these supplements again.  Can’t I get enough calcium from the plant/animal based foods I eat, to keep me healthy and growing strong bones?

What do you think about supplements?  Do they ever affect you badly or slow down your digestive system?  What supplements do you take on a daily basis?   

5 thoughts on “Calcium Slow Down

  1. I go off and on with supplements. Calcium and a multi-vitamin, when I remember. Especially since my doctor told me to not have the calcium supplement in the morning with a glass of milk since your body can only absorb so much calcium at a time.

    I sort of struggle with regularity so I’m unsure if the supplements help or hurt. However, on the weekend I started taking probiotics to encourage digestive flora in my digestive tract.

    • Thanks for your comments, Kara. I’m with you, not about all my meds, but with the calcium. It really seems to slow me down more than anything else I take. I’m on flexseed oil supplements and eat tons of raw veggies and fruits, so normally things are moving right along for me, if you know what I mean. 😉 But every time I try to take the calcium supplements I have problems. I’m not calcium deficient, so I think I’m just going to give up on them. Still, I worry about bone loss… It’s a dilema for women. Thanks for weighing in, I hope you will do so again.

    • I am not calcium deficient, but I worry about bone loss. Maybe I just worry too much. I eat tons of calcium rich foods, and I think for now I’m going to be happy with that. I just don’t seem to be able to handle the calcium supplements. I’ve tried several time to take them, but each time I go off again. They affect me poorly every time I try them.

Comments are closed.