Avoiding Pain!

“Life IS pain, Highness. Anyone who says differently is selling something.”     The Dread Pirate Roberts from The Princess Bride

I’ve been thinking  a lot about exercise lately. I’m not doing much of it, mind you, but I am thinking a lot about it. I have walked a bit in the last few weeks, but I have not done anything more than that. I haven’t done more because when I began this new diet regimen in January, my lower back hurt so badly most days that it was all I could do to mount the stairs of my front porch in the evening to get inside the house. Once I did get inside, I grabbed a rice bag, put it in the microwave, warmed it, took an aspirin and spent the next two hours trying to get the searing pain in my back to abate. In addition to my back, my knees throbbed, my hips screamed and my necks and shoulders ached. I WAS A TRAIN WRECK OF PHYSICAL AILMENTS, so exercise was definitely not on my list of approved activities. The worse part about my physical condition was that it worsened daily. Some days I despaired of life, if it were to be lived like that for the next five years. I was in serious pain!

I’m still in pain some days, but nothing, let me write that again, NOTHING LIKE I WAS EARLIER THIS YEAR. A nearly thirty pound weight loss has helped considerably with the pain levels, so that now the only time I am in that much pain is on a day when the barometric pressure plays havoc on everyone’s body. The rest of the time, I’m doing pretty well.

I’m writing about the exercise thing today, because I know that at some point IT MUST BE A PART OF MY WEIGHT LOSS EQUATION. But I will confess to you right here and right now that doing more than the occasional walk scares me. I just don’t want to hurt that much. Yet, I know that if I don’t exercise, the weight loss will slow and my metabolism will adjust and here I’ll sit, still sixty pounds heavier than I need to be–so what’s the answer?

I’ve looked into Tai Chi, something I think I could handle, maybe. I’ve also thought about Yoga, but I’m scared away from the DVDs that demonstrate the technique. If I spend the money on that, it will be JUST ONE MORE THING THAT WILL ROT AWAY IN THE CLOSET after a few sessions worth of use.  Maybe a few. If I’m lucky.

I don’t know what the answer is for me, but I feel the need to find one soon.

What low-impact exercise do you do?  How often do you mix up your exercise routine?  If you haven’t begun exercising yet, what would motivate you to begin?

2 thoughts on “Avoiding Pain!

    • Thank you for the encouragement, Jacqueline. I’m still a bit confused about what is going to be the right exercise for me, but I’m trying to move closer to a permanent exercise plan.

Comments are closed.