Short Day!

It is my impression that most people find Mondays difficult. Most people would like for the weekends to stretch out to four days, rather than two. Most people don’t appreciate having to get up early on Monday morning and trudge into work. Most people want more time for themselves. I’m exactly like most people. I’M TOO OFTEN RUSHED, too seldom settled, and too easily distracted to get the amount of “stuff” I have to do done in the amount of time I have to do it, but I’m trying not to complain.  I’m trying not to focus too much on what didn’t get done, isn’t getting done or won’t get done, because right now I need to focus on what needs to get done for me to stay on track with food.  

I have a friend who is good at focusing on the right thing.  When I find myself looking for excuses to revisit old behavior with food, I can hear her saying, “I know things are tough right now and you have a hundred things to do, but THAT DOES NOT NEGATE THE FACT THAT YOU NEED TO EAT HEALTHY TODAY. 

Can I say, I LOVE MY FRIEND!  I love that single-minded way she has of turning things around. 

Today is a short day for me.  I came in to the office late and I’m leaving early.  That’s good news, because it means I have more time to focus on getting healthy food on the dinner table.  I also have a chance to read some of my favorite health and fitness blogs this afternoon.  I have a chance to pen my own blog entry, too, which helps me to focus more acutely on getting better.  I have a long evening ahead of me, and I’m about two and a half hours late getting lunch.  A delay like that is usually a set-up for bad eating for me.  Right now, I need to be reminded that EATING RIGHT IS MY PRIMARY GOAL for each day, not just those days when I feel like eating right.

How do you ekk out time to take care of yourself?  Do you have some strategies you employ to stay on track? What is most important to you at this stage in your life?

