The Results Are In!

The blood work is done and the results are in. EVERYTHING CAME BACK WITHIN NORMAL LEVELS!!!

Woohoo, this is awesome news!

Without medication, and by concentrating on diet more (no exercise yet, except some walking), MY SUGAR LEVELS ARE WITHIN NORMAL RANGES. Whole, raw, unprocessed eating is the victor–it has literally changed my life and I have the scientific results to prove it.

In just 6 months, I HAVE LOWERED EVERY RISKY BLOOD LEVEL IN  MY BODY, and I did it by putting down my knife and picking up my fork!

There are other things that played significantly into the development of a better nutritional load and a healthier body and I want to give credit to them as well.

First and foremost, I CREDIT GOD WITH GIVING ME A WILLING SPIRIT and opening my eyes to the dietary changes that needed to be made to make me healhtier. Without His guidance and encouragement, I would not be celebrating this milestone in my life.

Second, I have to give credit to my support group. You folks have given me a thousand reasons to keep pressing on. I’m so thankful for you. Keep doing what you’re doing. You make a difference in this world.

Third, I have to thank my family, who has stuck by me, supported me through the changes, joined me in eating a healthier meal each night and never, ever complained. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!

I also want to give credit to my prayer partners, M & J. You gals are the solid rocks that I share everything with–the good, the bad and the ugly. Without you, I would not be where I am today. Thank you so much for “getting” me and hanging in there with me as I take this journey. Your support means the world to me.

Finally, I want to thank a few pioneers of plant-based nutritional marketing. Kudos to the producers of Forks over Knives; Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead, and Chow Down, DVDs I needed to see and want to share with others. Thanks also, to Dr. T Colin Campbell and Dr. Caldwell B. Esselstyn, Jr, who wrote The China Study and Prevent and Reverse Heart Disease, two astoundingly wise books that I have devoured as I have tried to boost my immune system and reboot my diet. You provided valuable food for thought and a workable plan for change. I appreciate all your efforts to help sick people get better and dying people live longer.

I last had blood drawn in October of last year (2011).  I got a diabetes diagnosis in December of 2011, just before the Christmas holiday.  I started revamping my diet after New Years this year (2012), and began reading literature and following blogs that dealt with fitness and nutrition.  My goal was to lose weight and figure out a way to satiate my hunger, without filling my body with sugar. I AM A RECOVERING SUGAR ADDICT.

I have gone completely OFF MY ACID REFLUX MEDS, which I have taken for ten years.  This, alone, is astounding to me.  Healing is beginning to take place, in my body, in my mind and in my soul, the most important place of all.

I began seeking education about nutrition in January, having seen two medical dieticians, neither was helpful to me.  I made an appointment with a health food,holistic nutritionist, and things began to fall into place.  My first DVD exposure to healthy eating was Knives Over Forks, which I highly recommend.  I’ve listed the others, all of them should be required viewing in high school health class, if you ask me.    Along the way, I have learned that my doctor probably knows very little about proper nutrition, that I knew almost nothing, and that if you want answers you must never give up seeking them. Ask, Ask, ASK!!!  Read, read, READ!

Now, for some stats:

October 2011 levels………………………………July 2012 levels

Glucose (Lab)  106……………………………………92

eGFR                    87…………………………………….74

Alkaline Phosphatase 95…………………………..76

BUN                     21…………………………………….14

Cholesterol      174…………………………………..148

A1C                     7.1……………………………………5.7

CO2                     38.0…………………………………29.0

The CO2 level is the most impressive to me, aside from my glucose, which is really what this party is all about!  My CO2 levels have been elevated for probably ten years, most likely due to the incredibly bad sleep patterns I had developed with the addition of excess weight.  To have this level within normal range is a miracle to me.  I can attest that I am sleeping much better these days, aching less, losing weight (albeit slowly) and seeing incredible benefits to living this way. 

How about you, have you ever considered drastically changing the way you eat?  Would you consider a plant-based, whole food, unprocessed lifestyle?  What would it take to get you to mix things up a little in your diet?

2 thoughts on “The Results Are In!

Comments are closed.